Wireframe generator Demo

Software: Away3D 4.x

Avatar
80prozent, Sr. Member
Posted: 08 October 2011 10:38 PM   Total Posts: 430

hi

i developed a class that creates a Wireframe Object out of a given Mesh.
the calculation time is quite heavy, so i endet up with calculating the needed date for a wireframe-object and storing this data in an xml.

the good think about it is, that it displays shared/unshared verticles of the mesh in different colors, so its quite good to debug meshes.

here is a (StressTest) Demo:
WireFrameGenerator_StressTest.swf

the size of this swf is about 4mb… :(
...the xml that holds the wireframe-data for the head.obj is uncompressed 347kb

still work in progress, sourcecode will follow.

[edit:]
i removed all material.shaders from the models for better framerate:
here is the updated demo:
WireFrameGenerator_StressTest_simplified.swf

 Signature 

sorry…i hope my actionscript is better than my english…

   

Avatar
80prozent, Sr. Member
Posted: 09 October 2011 01:34 AM   Total Posts: 430   [ # 1 ]

i made a much simpler and smaller example, loading no meshes, only the calculated wireframedata.

simple wireframe example

 Signature 

sorry…i hope my actionscript is better than my english…

   

Avatar
Choons, Sr. Member
Posted: 09 October 2011 01:35 AM   Total Posts: 281   [ # 2 ]

wow nice! That see-through one is really great & useful

   

Avatar
80prozent, Sr. Member
Posted: 09 October 2011 02:06 AM   Total Posts: 430   [ # 3 ]

thanks

when inverting the faces of the original mesh, you can get some cool effekts too.
i am playing with that right now…

here is the Ant from the ExampleFiles (only wireframe, no mesh loadet):

WireFrameAnt

 Signature 

sorry…i hope my actionscript is better than my english…

   

Avatar
Alejandro Santander, Administrator
Posted: 09 October 2011 03:32 PM   Total Posts: 414   [ # 4 ]

That looks awesome 80! How are you doing this? Are you using SegmentSets? If so, how do you manage solid materials under the wireframe without sorting artifacts?

Anyway, looking great!

   

Avatar
80prozent, Sr. Member
Posted: 09 October 2011 04:54 PM   Total Posts: 430   [ # 5 ]

hi alejandro

you are right: its a Objectontainer3d holding several SegmentSets. I didnt encountered any issues with sorting artifacts…the Objectontainer3d that hold the SegmentSets is child of the mesh…

this far it only takes the first subgeomtry into account. as soon as the class can handle multiple subgeometrys iam going to clean it up and upload.

 Signature 

sorry…i hope my actionscript is better than my english…

   

Avatar
Alejandro Santander, Administrator
Posted: 10 October 2011 03:25 AM   Total Posts: 414   [ # 6 ]

Cool… Perhaps this could be added to the engine’s debug utility classes. If you’d like to, please let me know via email! (you can email me through my profile)

   

JAre, Newbie
Posted: 10 October 2011 09:53 AM   Total Posts: 28   [ # 7 ]

Cool bro!

   

JAre, Newbie
Posted: 10 October 2011 09:55 AM   Total Posts: 28   [ # 8 ]
Alejandro Santander - 10 October 2011 03:25 AM

Cool… Perhaps this could be added to the engine’s debug utility classes.

Actually it can be useful as “selected” appearance of the 3D object. Like glow shader around crates in the game that are selected.

   

kz, Newbie
Posted: 05 December 2011 12:38 AM   Total Posts: 30   [ # 9 ]

I love your class 80! Are you gonna share it soon? <3

   

empend, Member
Posted: 05 December 2011 04:27 AM   Total Posts: 77   [ # 10 ]

Have you seen this?
http://www.lidev.com.ar/agalthemean/preview/

Its an AGAL editor, and it has a wireframe shader example.

Pretty simple to do with just AGAL.

   

kz, Newbie
Posted: 05 December 2011 09:24 AM   Total Posts: 30   [ # 11 ]

Hey, thanks so much, I’m a bit scared about this AGAL but I think it’s worth to learn it. (:

   

kz, Newbie
Posted: 05 December 2011 03:26 PM   Total Posts: 30   [ # 12 ]

I’m a bit confused and my brain is burning, can you give me an example in how to write a simple shader and apply it to a mesh as a material? Just a basic example, so I could focus on how it works, I just find some examples involving stage3d, but not examples in how to do it in away3d.

   

amcc, Newbie
Posted: 15 December 2011 05:23 PM   Total Posts: 10   [ # 13 ]

it would be great if you could share the code on this. Its exactly what i’m looking for. The WireframeMapGenerator looks horrible if you zoom in due to the pixel limitations of bitmaps.

I’m assuming this method isn’t using bitmaps

   

Avatar
80prozent, Sr. Member
Posted: 16 December 2011 12:19 AM   Total Posts: 430   [ # 14 ]

hi

i do not like the wireframe-mapgenerator to much either smile

i will upload the sources asap, but i didnt had a chance to lay my hands on flash for about 2 weeks. feels like 2 years :(. my mind is full of ideas and plans, but it seems like the world does not want me to make progress.
i crashed both my pc in the last month, and had a hard time getting something new.
yesterday i got myself a new machine (better than both my old ones together). now i hope i can get back to work and finish both the wireframegenerator and the c4d-exporter.

 Signature 

sorry…i hope my actionscript is better than my english…

   

kz, Newbie
Posted: 16 December 2011 11:29 AM   Total Posts: 30   [ # 15 ]

<3

   
   

X

Away3D Forum

Member Login

Username

Password

Remember_me



X