Lighting question - and lighting anomally(?)

Software: Away3D 3.x

csighence, Newbie
Posted: 01 August 2011 04:49 PM   Total Posts: 2

Hi, I am fairly new to Flash, and 3D and very new to away3D.  I am tasked with creating a simulation to be used in a course that allows a student to view the Earth in various parts of the orbit and how sunlight falling on the Earth varies throughout the year (so they can see how we get our seasons). I started with the great tutorials on the flashmagazine site to create a fairly good simulation.  But, using PointLight3D it seems that my Earth sphere is not being illuminated exactly half as it would in reality.  Instead it is being illuminated somewhat less than half.

I developed the project in Flash CS5.5 I would be happy to share the fla if anyone would like to review.  Here is a link to the simulation. 

Earth Sun Relationships

From the default view the illumination issue is apparent. It becomes more apparent if you set the Earth orbit to one of the equinoxes, and adjust Tilt to +90 and -90.  At the equinox the terminator (boundary between illuminated half and night side of Earth) should go exactly thru both poles but it does not.

I have played with angles, lighting, tilts, and a variety of other variables but have not succeeded.

The source is at
Earth Sun Source

Thanks in advance for any pointers, ideas, or suggestions!

Stephen Hopkins, Sr. Member
Posted: 02 August 2011 12:32 AM   Total Posts: 110   [ # 1 ]

The lighting looks fine - the sphere half lit with equinox and 90 tilt. I guess I’m not seeing the problem?

Signature 

http://www-scf.usc.edu/~shopkins

Alexander Seifert, Moderator
Posted: 02 August 2011 08:50 AM   Total Posts: 129   [ # 2 ]

csighence,

there are two things that come to mind.