texture click event with click uv coordinates

Software: Away3D 4.x

carsten_cs, Newbie
Posted: 24 February 2012 10:25 AM   Total Posts: 3

Hello

I’m very new to away3D. And I want to know if there is an clickevent in away3D with a reference to the texture of an mesh with the uv-coordinates auf the texture, so that you could reference through the texture possible 2d displayobjects.

If you want to realize 3D webpages, I think there is always this problem of interaction, so that there should exist a solution.

What is the typical workflow for that?

Have someone experiences with things like that?

Thanks carsten

Matse, Sr. Member
Posted: 24 February 2012 11:46 AM   Total Posts: 149   [ # 1 ]

Hi Carsten,

The MouseEvent3D already provides UV info, you just have to enable it on the clickable mesh with mesh.mouseDetails = true;

I don’t see a need for the event to reference the texture, that would be weird in my opinion : MouseEvent3D provides the clicked material, just get your texture from there if you need, am I missing something ?

Here is the MouseEvent3D doc just in case : http://away3d[dot]com/livedocs/away3d/4.0/away3d/events/MouseEvent3D.html

Replace [dot] with a dot… pleaaaaase admins do something about the false spam detection when linking to away3d[dot]com : I think I’ll end up creating a dedicated topic about this as I seem to speak in the void :D

carsten_cs, Newbie
Posted: 24 February 2012 01:04 PM   Total Posts: 3   [ # 2 ]

Thanks for the information.

I look it up in the reference and find the following explaination: ‘The uv coordinate inside the draw primitive where the event took place.’

What is the meaning of draw primitiv ?

I find a class PrimitiveBase, but I’m not shure, if draw primitiv are primitives meshes?? because this would mean, that only uv coordinates of primitives would be accessable?

I hope draw primitiv have got a more complex meaning concerning materials, like you wrote.