When is Prefab for Away3D 4.0 likely to be available?

Software: Prefab3D

Avatar
theMightyAtom, Sr. Member
Posted: 17 September 2011 06:16 AM   Total Posts: 669

First! :O)

   

Avatar
ddddesigns, Jr. Member
Posted: 17 September 2011 03:19 PM   Total Posts: 37   [ # 1 ]

I also would like to know.

 

   

Avatar
Fabrice Closier, Administrator
Posted: 18 September 2011 08:28 PM   Total Posts: 1265   [ # 2 ]

Now that Away3D (its architecture) is fairly robust and the player in RC state, I’m now able to focus on Prefab’s core.

The idea is to offer soon a basic working release, focussing at first on exports to AS3 and awd. Then gradually reintroduce some of the old features (enhanced) and of course add new ones.

No ETA yet, but watch this space…

 

   

Avatar
SasMaster, Sr. Member
Posted: 19 September 2011 10:20 AM   Total Posts: 127   [ # 3 ]

Fabrice ,you should hurry up,you have got serious competitors (Flare3D Studio)  wink

BTW ,have you considered to expose some part of Prefab to the masses? So we could contribute to its development .May be some kind of Prefab Deb API interfacing…

 

 Signature 

This looks like a job for superman
http://blog.alladvanced.net

   

Avatar
Fabrice Closier, Administrator
Posted: 19 September 2011 01:10 PM   Total Posts: 1265   [ # 4 ]

Flare what?

Kidding… Competition is healthy, but I do not want hurry, especially with what I’m doing atm…
For Prefab 1.x there is a little SDK, that I’ve never released for a few reasons.
2.0 will have it the way it should be. And yes, at some point, once I’m happy with the “base”, I’ll probably open Prefab’s door a bit…

 

   

Alex Bogartz, Sr. Member
Posted: 20 September 2011 03:37 PM   Total Posts: 216   [ # 5 ]

Fabrice, Prefab is an awesome tool and I appreciate your efforts on this!

My two cents: the thing that makes my workflow the hardest is exporting animations.  Apparently this is something that Flare does well, although I am using Blender and not 3DS Max, so I’m not sure about some of the details and I’m hacking my way through this process.  I’m sort of learning many tools at once right now, so kindly disregard if I have it all wrong.  But a streamlined workflow for exporting a Collada/3DS/Whatever file with animations and then marking the animation frames in Prefab (ala Unity), then exporting those files to AS3 or AWD would really open doors for fast content creation.

 

   

rihannarihanna72, Newbie
Posted: 29 October 2011 06:27 PM   Total Posts: 1   [ # 6 ]

Your message field is empty

 

   

salvador, Newbie
Posted: 01 November 2011 09:05 AM   Total Posts: 4   [ # 7 ]

Hi Fabrice,

Congratulations for reaching such a mature level on what started as a learning AIR exercise. It is inspiring.

Do you have a rough stimation on when Away3D 4.0 could be expected? Or how could we kept on the loop when such thing occurs? I find i find myself checking the url, regularly(to be precise every day) to see any indications on a date, or such. grin

Thanks,

 

   

Avatar
Fabrice Closier, Administrator
Posted: 01 November 2011 05:01 PM   Total Posts: 1265   [ # 8 ]

when it comes to Away4
http://away3d.com/index.php/comments/back_from_max_away3d_platform_roadmap

I do work atm on a Prefab2 very basic version that should allow imports and exports to various formats. Other functionalities will be added gradually via updates like I used to do in the past with v1.

 

   

Avatar
3d4ever, Newbie
Posted: 02 November 2011 01:22 PM   Total Posts: 21   [ # 9 ]

Hi Fabrice….

I downloaded prefab..

Did setup flash cs4 10.0.2 with away3d

but when i use BSP/PVS generator my swf files turn out always completly white….

I see at the size of the swf ( 142kb ) that there is something in it…

what do i wrong ?

 

   

Avatar
Fabrice Closier, Administrator
Posted: 02 November 2011 01:52 PM   Total Posts: 1265   [ # 10 ]

White is the color of the default maps from BitmapFileMaterials if loading fails.
Not really obvious in a closed environment I give you that smile
If your swf background is of another color and you see all white, this simply means that the awdata parser doesn’t find your maps. You can alter the sources directory url (as already filled in the class output).

 

   

Avatar
3d4ever, Newbie
Posted: 02 November 2011 02:11 PM   Total Posts: 21   [ # 11 ]

Hi….


I do exactly what you show in the prefab3d 1.3 video.

but for some reasons when opening the as3 in flash

the script has alot of black text on top..while in your video these are blue
( see attachement )

 

Image Attachments
screen01.jpg
   

Avatar
Fabrice Closier, Administrator
Posted: 02 November 2011 03:10 PM   Total Posts: 1265   [ # 12 ]

ah yes, never ever run black code!

Kiddin, it’s simply because in video you see CS5 where I have installed the away synthax highlighter. That the synthax is not highlighted/coloured, this doesn’t mean the code is out of date like yogurt or dead doing nothing!
If something is wrong, Mr compiler will tell you. Highlighting is simply there to ease reading and eventually spot typos faster.

 

   

Avatar
3d4ever, Newbie
Posted: 02 November 2011 04:51 PM   Total Posts: 21   [ # 13 ]

Lol..ok…

well i tried everything now…

still get blank swf’s..

Well..its not for me this software..lol.. must be my age
this as3 script is killing me…

time to move back to simple 2 animations..

 

 

   

Avatar
Fabrice Closier, Administrator
Posted: 02 November 2011 09:13 PM   Total Posts: 1265   [ # 14 ]

Just before you go back to animated gifs… are you sure the maps are at the expected location? I would tripple check the urls, because if you see only white while your background swf is of another color, this means it actually runs but you do not see it… you’re almost there!

 

   

Avatar
3d4ever, Newbie
Posted: 03 November 2011 05:59 AM   Total Posts: 21   [ # 15 ]

ok will check

 

   
   

X

Away3D Forum

Member Login

Username

Password

Remember_me



X