Problem rendering while changing FOV

Software: Away3D 4.x

Romanzo Criminale, Newbie
Posted: 22 August 2013 06:28 AM   Total Posts: 4

Hi everyone,

I have a pretty basic code, rendering a wire frame. I setup one perspective camera looking at the grid. But when I’m changing the FOV of my camera to a high angle, some part of the grid are disappearing in the rendering stage.
I’m not sure if it’s a bug or not. I tried to go to the source code but as I’m pretty new with away3d, it didn’t help me much!
I attached some pictures to show the problem. For a FOV of 102 degrees, the grid is well displayed but for 103 and 160 some problem appear.

Here is also my code to setup the grid and the view3D

//setup the viewA
viewA = new View3D()
scene = new Scene3D(); 
cameraA = new Camera3D();
viewA.scene scene;
viewA.camera cameraA;
viewA.camera.name "A";
viewA.camera.lens = new PerspectiveLens(160)
viewA.camera.;[
viewA
.camera.;
viewA.camera.5000;
viewA.camera.moveTo( new Vector3D()); 
grid = new WireframePlane(1000100010100xFFFFFF1"xz")
scene.addChild(grid

Thanks for your help!

 

Image Attachments
grid_fov_102.pnggrid_fov_103.pnggrid_fov_160.png
   

Avatar
theMightyAtom, Sr. Member
Posted: 22 August 2013 07:44 AM   Total Posts: 669   [ # 1 ]

Make sure the viewA.camera.lens.far parameter is set to a high enough number. This is the limit of how far from the camera is rendered.

Good Luck!

   

Romanzo Criminale, Newbie
Posted: 22 August 2013 07:59 AM   Total Posts: 4   [ # 2 ]

Thanks for the answer but i already tried to set it to a high number (100000) and it didn’t changed anything!

   

Avatar
theMightyAtom, Sr. Member
Posted: 22 August 2013 08:26 AM   Total Posts: 669   [ # 3 ]

What happens if you increase the thickness of the wire ?

   

Romanzo Criminale, Newbie
Posted: 22 August 2013 11:12 PM   Total Posts: 4   [ # 4 ]

It’s working! Thanks! I was expecting something more complicated!
Is it because when the perspective projection is computed some of line are then smaller than one pixel thick?

Thanks again

   

Avatar
theMightyAtom, Sr. Member
Posted: 23 August 2013 05:31 AM   Total Posts: 669   [ # 5 ]

Great! The next thing I was going to suggest, was trying to adjust you anti-alias setting. This makes an average of several pixels, and *may* make your thinner lines visible as well.

   
   

X

Away3D Forum

Member Login

Username

Password

Remember_me



X