Exporting to .obj in Maya 2012 and textures and materials desappear in Prefab2

Software: Prefab3D

Mar, Newbie
Posted: 07 May 2013 11:24 AM   Total Posts: 29

Hi,

I am making an export of a car from Maya 2012 to Prefab2 with Obj exporter and it doesn’t include de textures or materials in it. A window pops up saying:

Oops! Issues were found during the parsing of this file:

1 subgeometry was found to have uv values out of bounds (0-1).
Repeat was set to true on the material using these uvs.
—————————————————————
List of meshes with uv changes:
—————————————————————
- Item x, material Submesh: 0, set repeat to true.

It keeps saying the same with every item that has a material established in Maya 2012.

I’m new in Maya and Prefab, can anybody help me please? It’s much easier for me to work the texture in Maya since I don’t know much AS yet, and Maya’s similar to other 3D programs I know. Is it a problem with exporting to many meshes in .obj format or should I export one by one each and every material to Prefab?

My goal is to be able to use a car made in Maya 2012 and finally have it in Away3D all finished, with textures and lights, and dynamic material reflexions (I don’t know if I used the correct words, sorry)

Thanks a lot, I would really mucha appreciate your help

Fabrice Closier, Administrator
Posted: 07 May 2013 11:30 AM   Total Posts: 1265   [ # 1 ]

The “issue” is not a real problem at all. What it says is:
The model that you imported is uvmapped with values that are not between 0 and 1. Because of this, in Away, the map displayed on the mesh will likely be “visually” broken. To prevent the artefact, prefab simply set the repeat to true on the material for you.

Mar, Newbie
Posted: 07 May 2013 12:05 PM   Total Posts: 29   [ # 2 ]

You mean it’s just and advertisement of what Prefab is doing? That he is but changing that values to true so I won’t lose visually my textures on Away3D later on? Awesome! Thanks!