|
Flávio Keglevich, Newbie
Posted: 25 July 2011 08:09 PM Total Posts: 1
Hi, I’m new in this forum and this is my first topic (And my english is bad)
My question is: There is a way to use a BitmapData instead of a background color in a View3D instance ? (something like a backgroundBitmap property)
Yes, I could use a textured plane in the back of all objects, but I really don’t know how to do it (correctly). My purpose is just to test and benchmark Augumented Reality using fp11. If I discover something, I’ll post in this topic.
Thanks
|
David Lenaerts, Administrator
Posted: 27 July 2011 12:47 PM Total Posts: 80
[ # 1 ]
This is one that’s been requested quite often, so I added a View3D::backgroundImage property. Have fun with it
|
|
Choons, Sr. Member
Posted: 29 July 2011 12:11 AM Total Posts: 281
[ # 3 ]
nice! Welcome to the forum, Flavio. You have already made quite an impression
Thanks, David! Been wanting that quite a while myself.
|
iwoj, Newbie
Posted: 21 September 2011 07:57 AM Total Posts: 5
[ # 4 ]
It seems that View3D resizes the backgroundImage into a square.
This feature is almost perfect, but my backgrounds need to be rectangular. Or at the very least it should tile instead of “smearing.”
|
Alejandro Santander, Administrator
Posted: 22 September 2011 11:55 PM Total Posts: 414
[ # 5 ]
If you update to the latest source on GitHub, you can now do:
view.backgroundImageFitToViewPort = false;
|
iwoj, Newbie
Posted: 23 September 2011 05:19 AM Total Posts: 5
[ # 6 ]
Thanks Alejandro. I did a fresh git pull from away3d-core-fp11 and recompiled with the flag you provided, but now the texture doesn’t appear at all. What up with that?
|
Alejandro Santander, Administrator
Posted: 23 September 2011 04:17 PM Total Posts: 414
[ # 7 ]
iwoj, I made some thorough testing again today and I don’t seem to be having a problem, can you show me a snippet of the code you are using? size of image? thx
|
iwoj, Newbie
Posted: 25 September 2011 10:01 AM Total Posts: 5
[ # 8 ]
camera = new Camera3D();
camera.z = -150;
view = new View3D(new Scene3D(), camera);
view.antiAlias = 4;
var starField:BitmapData = new StarFieldBitmapData();
view.backgroundImage = starField;
view.backgroundImageFitToViewPort = false;
scene = view.scene;
The StarFieldBitmapData class is a a library Bitmap in my Flash Professional CS5 .fla file. It’s a 2500 x 1250px JPG file.
Does that help at all?
|
Alejandro Santander, Administrator
Posted: 25 September 2011 07:13 PM Total Posts: 414
[ # 9 ]
Textures in Away3D 4.x must NOT exceed 2048px per side.
I’ve tried the bg image with a 2048x2048px size image and it works just fine.
|
Choons, Sr. Member
Posted: 25 September 2011 07:20 PM Total Posts: 281
[ # 10 ]
you mean must not exceed 2048 px rght?
|
Alejandro Santander, Administrator
Posted: 25 September 2011 07:33 PM Total Posts: 414
[ # 11 ]
yeah, thanks Choons, Sunday morning typo error… (post edited)
|
iwoj, Newbie
Posted: 25 September 2011 09:50 PM Total Posts: 5
[ # 12 ]
Thanks Alejandro.
I tried updating the Flash graphic asset with a texture that is 2048 x 1250, but it didn’t appear. I also tried 1024 x 1024, but no luck. I’m probably missing something obvious. Any ideas?
|
Choons, Sr. Member
Posted: 25 September 2011 11:01 PM Total Posts: 281
[ # 13 ]
how about simplifying your initialization to only:
view = new View3D();
view.antiAlias = 4;
view.camera.z = -150;
get rid of that scene = view.scene line and the view3d parameters and just let it initialize the camera & scene by default and see if that makes a difference.
Also it looks like you may need to do
var starField:BitmapData = new StarFieldBitmapData().bitmapData; <—?
|
iwoj, Newbie
Posted: 26 September 2011 12:54 AM Total Posts: 5
[ # 14 ]
Thanks for the code cleanup. It does simplify it, but it didn’t change the the scene at all.
StarFieldBitmapData is already a BitmapData object, so it doesn’t have a bitmapData field.
I never was able to get backgroundImageFitToViewport = false to work, so I just dropped my image below 2048 pixels to get rid of the smear.
Alejandro: could you describe your test code and assets?
|
Bill2Molehill, Newbie
Posted: 25 October 2011 08:14 AM Total Posts: 4
[ # 15 ]
I encountered a problem when i use View3D::backgroundImage property: my view is 1024*768, and backgroundImage is 1024*1024, so backgroundImage is stretched, this is not what I expected, when i use backgroundImage with 1024*768, the backgroundImage doesn’t appear at all, beacause it isn’t BitmapData Valid.
how to deal with this issue ?
|