Desperately Need Interactive Material !!!

Software: Away3D 4.x

Concept Z, Sr. Member
Posted: 04 July 2011 10:04 AM   Total Posts: 124

hi ,away3d team !

As i posted before, we need interactive material ! desperately need it !

Sprite and MoveClip are really nice things !  actually , flash is almost all about Sprite/MovieClip, but how to utilize such great things in 3D with animation and interactivity ? keep some of the 2d features but at least keep the interactivity feature on 3D surface ?

Adobe said , it will invent a Bitmap3D structure to achieve such thing in Flash Player 12 in their roadmap blueprint. it’s really too long to wait !!!

But currently, it’s not available both in Stage3D API and Away3d 4.x /

Would you please talk a little more about the way and the feasibility to achieve such things !

Do we have a walkaround the achieve such thing?

Desperately looking forward to your reply

 Signature 
signature_image

Anyone can cook but only the fearless can be great

   

Stephen Hopkins, Sr. Member
Posted: 05 July 2011 02:24 AM   Total Posts: 110   [ # 1 ]

Care to explain what is an interactive material? What features does it have?

 Signature 

http://www-scf.usc.edu/~shopkins

   

Concept Z, Sr. Member
Posted: 07 July 2011 07:12 AM   Total Posts: 124   [ # 2 ]

it’s something like the current BitmapMaterial or VideoMaterial in Away3d 4.x, just use a MovieClip ,or Sprite’s visual appearance as the 3D object’s surface texture while maintain the interactivity and animation consistency of the MovieClip/Sprite.

You can also call it MovieClipMaterial.

Visual appearance is not hard to achieve ,but interactivity, very hard !

Stage3D,StageVideo, MovieClip/Sprite are Isolated Islands in Flash DisplayList, that is really ugly achitecture…there is no immediate bridge between these Isolated Islands.

 Signature 
signature_image

Anyone can cook but only the fearless can be great

   

Avatar
theMightyAtom, Sr. Member
Posted: 09 July 2011 06:57 PM   Total Posts: 669   [ # 3 ]

Hi forrest, you can do this already, with a bit of a work around.
1.Make your interactive MovieClip.
2.Use it as a material (make instance, use bitmapData.copy, apply to BitmapMaterial.
3. make sure your mesh has mouseEnabled and mouseDetails set to true.
4. Assign a MouseEvent3D to the mesh.
5. When you get an event, you can read the uv coordinates from the event and that gives you the point in the MovieClip where the event occurred.
You can then create you activity in AS3 based on the coordinates (think image maps in HTML)

Not quite as elegant as having an actual interactive MovieClip on a 3D surface, but with a little patience it works fine.
Check out InteractionTest.as for example.
https://github.com/away3d/away3d-examples-broomstick/blob/master/src/InteractionTest.as

Good luck!

   

Concept Z, Sr. Member
Posted: 11 July 2011 03:21 AM   Total Posts: 124   [ # 4 ]

Thanks for your post ,Peter Strømberg.

“image map based on UV coordinates”, this is nice idea , i will have a try…
but for gesture & multi-touch , it seems still hard to achieve….

in the meantime , in order to keep the animation of the MovieClip,i need dynamically call BitmapData.draw(MovieClip) and upload the texture to GPU ,update the “Image map” for interaction information in the Enterframe Loop ,  this is really CPU & GUP Intensive work !

Challenging but enjoyable!

 Signature 
signature_image

Anyone can cook but only the fearless can be great

   

Avatar
theMightyAtom, Sr. Member
Posted: 11 July 2011 06:15 AM   Total Posts: 669   [ # 5 ]

This test redraws the texture and normal map at runtime…
http://videometry.net/broomstick/RealtimeDeformation.html
It really isn’t that intensive, just remember to only redraw when necessary and use a single bitmapData instance to save memory.

Good luck!

   

Concept Z, Sr. Member
Posted: 12 July 2011 01:27 AM   Total Posts: 124   [ # 6 ]

Nice work, Peter!

I did another stress test , much better than before.

 Signature 
signature_image

Anyone can cook but only the fearless can be great

   

SuperPerfundo, Newbie
Posted: 12 September 2011 11:57 PM   Total Posts: 2   [ # 7 ]

Will this method work in Away 3d 3.6?

   
   

X

Away3D Forum

Member Login

Username

Password

Remember_me



X