Building 3D room guidelines

Software: Away3D 3.x

Panel, Newbie
Posted: 01 February 2012 07:57 AM   Total Posts: 1

Hello

I am new to away and 3D stuff so I’ll need your help. I want to create 3D room with ability to move inside room.

I’ll be grateful for guidelines, but first let’s split the issue:
1. Creating room (let’s say simple square room with floor and roof)
What is he best way to create room?Do I use some tool to do it or just code?

2. How to apply textures to the floor?

3. How to implement moving around? Just move camera when proper key is hold and mouse is moved?

4. What is a best approach for collision detection, so I can’t go through the wall?

I’ll be grateful for hints, guidelines, tutorials smile

ganesh, Member
Posted: 07 June 2013 12:57 PM   Total Posts: 54   [ # 1 ]

HI,

Me also trying to do the same thing.

Now, I can create a 3d room, not just a cube, it is a complete 3d house with many room. Put a camera inside it and then can move the camera to front, back, look at up/down/left/right, with the help of a camera controller.

But I am only facing problem (I havn’t learnt it yet) to keep camera bound to room only. Now, I can get out of the entire room that I dont want.

Also I am facing problem in proper texturing and uv setting.

Okay the steps are create 3d model in sketchup, its free and fast, It is easier than paint. then export as .3ds from their and directly import to your away project. You can open sample file Bais_load, and replace ant model and texture with your model and texture, camera is already there.

Just use a camera controller to move the camera.
Hope it will give you some idea

Updates : you can use this link 3d room
though this is from older version, but you (me too) can get idea from this

Dlate, Newbie
Posted: 07 June 2013 03:42 PM   Total Posts: 21   [ # 2 ]