Creating a MD5 file in blender for Away3d - can’t get it done

Software: Away3D 4.x

Biegzie, Jr. Member
Posted: 07 June 2012 10:51 PM   Total Posts: 39

Can someone please tell me the blender version / MD5 exporter I need to use, and how to use it / maybe send me a stickman example with bones animation.

I’m not getting there.. Can someone help me out? I need to make a walking stick-like person. 2 modes (walk, and wait)... But I’m new to blender / skeletons and MD5.

Thx!

Baush, Sr. Member
Posted: 08 June 2012 03:29 AM   Total Posts: 135   [ # 1 ]

The Blender -> MD5 -> Away3D pipeline is quite complex. I would need to write a tutorial eventually, but here’s a few pointers:

- Install the MD5 Export script in blender
http://www.katsbits.com/smforum/index.php?topic=167.0

- Build a character Mesh, then build and armature, then assign the armature as the mesh’s parent

- Create an action, and set your timeline to the amount of frames for the animation

- Create a second action

- Select both the armature and the mesh, then export only the .md5mesh
ex: character.md5mesh

- With both mesh and armature selected with an active action, export the .md5anim only
ex: walk.md5anim

- Again with both selected, change the action and export the other animation
ex: run.md5anim

- Then, in the AS3 code you will need to load all 3 files and programmatically link your mesh to either AnimationState.

Let me know if you need more details on the actionscript end. I suggest you take a look at the sample files that handles MD5.

Shegl, Sr. Member
Posted: 08 June 2012 06:06 AM   Total Posts: 134   [ # 2 ]

Biegzie.. It’s a bit hard to make proper model in blender in md5.
I tryied 1 month for it and finaly make only low poly(about 100 faces) model and still were are some bugs with vertex heights.. also u will need before export flip normals and other stuff…