AwayPhysics editor/level editor

Software: Away3D 4.x

hoksha the bald, Newbie
Posted: 06 May 2014 05:52 AM   Total Posts: 5

Hello,

I am planning to create my 3D game and I am still new to Away3D/AwayPhysics.
I am trying to create/plan my assets, levels work flow.
Since the levels will be simple enough, I can create it basically in DDC software, export it as Obj, then import it to Away Builder for final tuning.
But I am concerned about physics. How can I create collision basic shapes like boxes, cylinders, extra and load that to be used with AwayPhysics.
I know I can create these dynamically in code, but I think it will not work for a level with walls, stairs and so on.

Any advice is greatly appreciated, thanks for advance.

Sandro, Newbie
Posted: 06 May 2014 07:16 AM   Total Posts: 10   [ # 1 ]

Yes, the theme is very interesting. Join a question.
On my part, there were attempts to make the physics editor. But still high complexity. It’s not easy - to dynamically create objects and relations in the editor, keep track of all objects.

Judging by how things are going with AwayBuilder (eg with skeletal animation), do not expect anything.
But if you put aside all the work, everything is possible wink

hoksha the bald, Newbie
Posted: 06 May 2014 01:42 PM   Total Posts: 5   [ # 2 ]

Thank you Sandro.
I hope there is an easy way.
I thought a little and I think of creating the required boxes and other collision primitives inside AwayBuilder, then tag them for physics use, and tag them as cylinder, cube, or whatever primitive best fit for it.
Inside the code, the items tagged for physics use should not appear and a ghost object with matching shape can be created to match the physics object created inside AwayBuilder.
I have not tested it yet, I will write again if I did.
Any other idea is greatly appreciated.

Sandro, Newbie
Posted: 06 May 2014 06:32 PM   Total Posts: 10   [ # 3 ]
hoksha the bald - 06 May 2014 01:42 PM

I hope there is an easy way.