Skeleton with multiple Mesh Away 4.x

Software: Away3D 4.x

Radagast, Newbie
Posted: 17 December 2012 07:47 PM   Total Posts: 28

Hi guys!
I create RPG game using Away3D smile
My goal is to build animated character from externally loaded “bodyparts” (AWD2 exported from 3dsmax) - make it more customizable (Dont want to reload entire character when i change “pants”).

How should i do that? I made some research but im bit confused, since a lot of informations i found is outdated (Away 3.6).
Should i try to get “position data” of skeleton joints and apply it to newly
added mesh? How to bind Mesh with skeleton with code ?

Any help will be much appreciated:)

Regards
Rada

   

Avatar
loth, Sr. Member
Posted: 17 December 2012 11:08 PM   Total Posts: 236   [ # 1 ]

hello you can make that with awd2 so firstly some link

http://www.adobe.com/devnet/flashplayer/articles/away3d-autodesk3dsmax.html
and
http://3dflashlo.wordpress.com/biped-to-awd/

in 3dsmax you have to apply skin modifier to each model
and in away3d apply the same or copy of SkeletonAnimator to model.

you can change enveloppe in 3dsmax for each model
but keep the same bones structure.

the model takes up little space compared to the animation
this is a very good solution in your case.

 

   

Radagast, Newbie
Posted: 18 December 2012 04:54 PM   Total Posts: 28   [ # 2 ]

Thanks loth:)
I made some tests and now i can export from 3dmax multiple AWD files with “parts”, all builded on same skeleton, and add them to stage as separate mesh. All Meshes sharing one skeleton (and SkeletonAnimator ofc).

I wonder how this approach affects performance. Will test that later:)

 

 

   

GameDesigner, Jr. Member
Posted: 21 December 2012 06:41 PM   Total Posts: 33   [ # 3 ]

Hi smile
Is there any way to get the same result using Blender?

Cheers!

loth - 17 December 2012 11:08 PM

hello you can make that with awd2 so firstly some link

http://www.adobe.com/devnet/flashplayer/articles/away3d-autodesk3dsmax.html
and
http://3dflashlo.wordpress.com/biped-to-awd/

in 3dsmax you have to apply skin modifier to each model
and in away3d apply the same or copy of SkeletonAnimator to model.

you can change enveloppe in 3dsmax for each model
but keep the same bones structure.

the model takes up little space compared to the animation
this is a very good solution in your case.

 

   

Avatar
loth, Sr. Member
Posted: 21 December 2012 10:16 PM   Total Posts: 236   [ # 4 ]

i’m not sure plug for blender can do that.
I’m interested to know if anyone can test.

 

   

GameDesigner, Jr. Member
Posted: 21 December 2012 10:48 PM   Total Posts: 33   [ # 5 ]

I’ve already tried a lot, without success :/

 

   

Avatar
loth, Sr. Member
Posted: 21 December 2012 11:03 PM   Total Posts: 236   [ # 6 ]

3ds plug is the most advanced
but have you try simple model export 2 awd with same squeleton
and in away3d apply same animator juste to know

 

   

synkarius, Member
Posted: 31 December 2012 06:20 PM   Total Posts: 64   [ # 7 ]

GameDesigner, you may be able to do what you hope to do with our new 3D file format: SOUR. See “attachment points” in the Github README file.

 

   

Radagast, Newbie
Posted: 02 January 2013 04:06 PM   Total Posts: 28   [ # 8 ]

(sorry double posted)

 

   

Radagast, Newbie
Posted: 02 January 2013 04:09 PM   Total Posts: 28   [ # 9 ]

Hello,

Well, aftar Holydays and New Year’s Eve its time to make some nice 3d Multi-mesh animations:)
As i explained in first post - its all about customizing RPG character, building from external “bodyparts”.
I followed loth guide (nice tutorials, thanks again m8 smile) but something gone wrong when animation starts.

Here is the link with “Play” Button.
http://www.witmich.nazwa.pl/krzych/multimesh/

If You press play (starting animation “Walk”) hand changes shape.
(animation in 3dsMax is working if playied in 3dsMax)

In short ill explain workflow:
- create skeleton and Meshes In 3DsMax (i used ONKBA-Corps-lnew from tutorial)
- save hand in seperate file
- save rest of body in seperate file (without a hand we cutted)
(both have the same skeleton with the same bones and animation set)

- loading both files to AssetLibrary
- adding to Stage3D meshes and applying one (the same) animator to both of them. To create animator i use one (the same) skeleton loaded from first file.
- animator.play(“Walk”);

Please help!

Wish You all Happy New Year smile
Rada

 

   

Radagast, Newbie
Posted: 04 January 2013 09:18 AM   Total Posts: 28   [ # 10 ]

Hey!
Im stuck on this one ;/ , any hint will be much appreciated

Regards
Radagast

 

   

Avatar
loth, Sr. Member
Posted: 04 January 2013 11:08 PM   Total Posts: 236   [ # 11 ]

humm strange process
maybe you can apply resetXform to cutting arm in 3dsmax
are you sure is the same do squeleton do you make a copy in 3dsmax?

 

   

Radagast, Newbie
Posted: 07 January 2013 11:30 AM   Total Posts: 28   [ # 12 ]

In 3dsmax its prepared in same file, than saved in two separate files, one contain hand, other rest of character, but both have the same skeleton. Alredy tried resetXform, but im not 3Dmax specialist.

I also placed loaded meshes on two separate skeletons (used namespaces because their names were the same) from both files. Result is the same.

Could You have a look at source files attached to this post? smile
There is also .max file used to export AWD (in assets folder).

Regards
Radagast


//edit————————————

I found that attachment is not working.
download from here - http://www.witmich.nazwa.pl/krzych/multimesh/MultipleMeshesTest.rar

 

File Attachments
MultipleMeshesTest.rar  (File Size: 1778KB - Downloads: 0)
   

Avatar
loth, Sr. Member
Posted: 07 January 2013 11:58 AM   Total Posts: 236   [ # 13 ]

use zip not rar

why use different 3dsmax files ?
make clone of caracter (with copy on setting).
remove parts you don’t whant
and export

then you have arm mesh and character mesh on the same awd with animation.

animation takes much more space than the model
it’s not good methode to create different files.

 

   

Radagast, Newbie
Posted: 07 January 2013 12:56 PM   Total Posts: 28   [ # 14 ]

Zip it is:)
www.witmich.nazwa.pl/krzych/multimesh/MultipleMeshesTest.zip


Well,
The point is that it has to be separated. I would like more customization
flexibility and mor important - transfer.  Imagine RPG character with 100++
sets of cloathing and/or armor just for one class and sex.
It would be nice to not download it all every time when character has only 1 set on.

It would be best if in one file i could have skeleton only, and all bodyparts in others.
Load the skeleton and actual armor set and somehow connect the external parts to skeleton.

Specyficly - how to connect BodypartMesh to Skeleton if both are loaded separately?
How to tell to Mesh “You will have bone here” (should be start and end point of bone or stg?)
or maybe export BodypartMesh with copy of skeletons Bone?

Best Regards
Radagast

 

   

Avatar
loth, Sr. Member
Posted: 07 January 2013 01:02 PM   Total Posts: 236   [ # 15 ]

is not logic
if you do that you load animation each time and is more longer
than have all mesh in the same awd

 

   
   

X

Away3D Forum

Member Login

Username

Password

Remember_me



X