|
Koga73, Newbie
Posted: 15 November 2012 08:13 PM Total Posts: 13
Hi,
I want to get the normal of whatever face the user clicked on.
I’m using:
_view.mousePicker = PickingType.RAYCAST_BEST_HIT;
_mesh.pickingCollider = PickingColliderType.PB_BEST_HIT;
The mouse event is firing I’m just not sure how to determine what face was clicked on… and subsequently the normal for that face.
Thanks!
|
Alejandro Santander, Administrator
Posted: 15 November 2012 08:16 PM Total Posts: 414
[ # 1 ]
Hey, the MouseEvent3D carries information about the normal. Have a look at the new picking tutorial.
The 3 last demos on the tutorial make use of the event’s normal property.
|
Koga73, Newbie
Posted: 15 November 2012 08:42 PM Total Posts: 13
[ # 2 ]
Thanks I hadn’t seen that tutorial. The last example is the most similar.
When I get the sceneNormal property from the MouseEvent3D instance its always one of the following:
(1, 0, 0)
(0, 0, 1)
This seems strange as my mesh is in the shape of a cylinder. I would expect to see normal values that have a decimal for both the x and z coordinates.
Is this correct… any ideas?
|
Alejandro Santander, Administrator
Posted: 15 November 2012 08:51 PM Total Posts: 414
[ # 3 ]
yeah, you are correct
can you try setting view.forceMouseMove = true?
|
Koga73, Newbie
Posted: 15 November 2012 08:53 PM Total Posts: 13
[ # 4 ]
Just tried it same result… no matter where I click on the model either the x or z value is 1 with the other values being 0 for the sceneNormal property.
|
Alejandro Santander, Administrator
Posted: 15 November 2012 08:54 PM Total Posts: 414
[ # 5 ]
What happens if you listen to mouse moves instead of mouse clicks?
|
Koga73, Newbie
Posted: 15 November 2012 09:03 PM Total Posts: 13
[ # 6 ]
Interesting… If I listen for move events with forceMouseMove=false I get the same result I’ve been getting however when forceMouseMove=true the move event’s sceneNormal property looks correct.
|
Alejandro Santander, Administrator
Posted: 15 November 2012 09:05 PM Total Posts: 414
[ # 7 ]
Seems like you’ve found a bug! Assuming that you are up to date with the lib, let me know what branch you are observing this in and I’ll fix it later today or early tomorrow.
|
Koga73, Newbie
Posted: 15 November 2012 09:09 PM Total Posts: 13
[ # 8 ]
Thanks!
I’m using away3d-core-fp11_4_0_9_gold.
I suppose for the time being I can record the sceneNormal value on mouseMove and then do what I want with it on click.
After you get the bug fixed do I go to github for the latest? Also will there be an updated swc with the fix?
|
Alejandro Santander, Administrator
Posted: 15 November 2012 09:11 PM Total Posts: 414
[ # 9 ]
Sure, thx for finding the bug! As soon as it’s fixed I’ll notify you here and leave instructions.
|
Alejandro Santander, Administrator
Posted: 16 November 2012 02:07 PM Total Posts: 414
[ # 10 ]
Alright, it should be fixed now, can you give it another try?
You’d need to update your away3d-core-fp11 library from github, in either the master branch or the dev branch.
|
Koga73, Newbie
Posted: 16 November 2012 03:18 PM Total Posts: 13
[ # 11 ]
Thanks!!!
I grabbed the latest code off of github and it looks like its working now. I really need a swc due to compile time. Could you post one?
|
Alejandro Santander, Administrator
Posted: 16 November 2012 04:23 PM Total Posts: 414
[ # 12 ]
I’m afraid I don’t have one. Can’t you just compile the library and use the outputted swc?
|