3Ds Max not exporting skeletal animation

Software: Away3D 4.x

Tamas, Newbie
Posted: 10 February 2015 10:46 AM   Total Posts: 4

Hi guys,
I’m completely new to Away3D, so maybe my question will be a bit stupid.
So, my goal was to create a simple skeletal animation and see it using the AWD exporter’s preview (no AS yet).

What I exactly did was:
- downloaded the newest wad exporter for Max, installed it
- in 3ds max 2013 I created a simple cylinder
- created 3 bones inside it
- added all the bones to the cylinder using the skin modifier
- in frame 10 i bent the middle bone
- copied frame 0 to frame 20
- I got a simple animation of straight cylinder - bent cylinder - straight cylinder
- clicked on the little floppy icon (Export AWD)
- chose a file name and used the default setting in the exported (everything is checked under “Animation”)
- chose “open awd in browser” under preview
- 8 out of 10 times either the exporter, or 3ds crashed, but I don’t really care

So my browser opened and I saw my cylinder without animation. I opened the awd file in Prefab (got the usual uvw warning) and saw the same cylinder without animation.

Did I miss something? What shall I do to - at least - see the animation?
An help will be mostly appreciated.

Tamas, Newbie
Posted: 13 February 2015 03:17 PM   Total Posts: 4   [ # 1 ]

Ok, found out. It’s quite simple: the awd exporter is either incomplete or broken.
Downloaded the md5 exporter and exported the exact same scene and it worked (also with a biped and no bones). No Prefab warnings, no extra panel in 3dsMax, no headaches.

Pangolin, Newbie
Posted: 16 February 2015 04:28 PM   Total Posts: 5   [ # 2 ]

Hi Tamas,