Context3D not available with air 3.7 for iOS

Software: Away3D 4.x

Avatar
martiniDave, Newbie
Posted: 21 September 2013 12:14 AM   Total Posts: 9

I am newbie to away3d (using 4). Building a project in flash cs6 pro. Have seen several calls for help on this forum but no resolutions. Project runs fine until i apply AIR for iOS 3.7.0.1860 (and the rest of iOS) and I get:
Error #2044: Unhandled ErrorEvent:. text=Error #3702: Context3D not available.

All updates for air and flex SDKs in place and all fixes found on google search tried(mostly updating SDKs) even tried:

var options = new NativeWindowInitOptions();
options.renderMode = “direct”;
options.transparent = true;
options.systemChrome = NativeWindowSystemChrome.NONE;
options.renderMode = “direct”;
var nativeWindow = new NativeWindow(options);

it seemed weak and was in effective but am desperate. Any ideas out there?
Thanks for reading this.

   

Avatar
theMightyAtom, Sr. Member
Posted: 22 September 2013 01:41 PM   Total Posts: 669   [ # 1 ]

first thing that springs to mind is the depthAndStencil flag, that gave me some trouble on Android (having tried iOS yet, but am planning to next week).
I would say it’s probably not that though, as it gives a different error.

Are you waiting for your app to initialise before adding view3D to the stage?
That’s another possible cause of this error.

public function AwayTest() 
  
{
   super
();
            
addEventListener(Event.ADDED_TO_STAGEonAddedToStage);
  
}
  
  
private function onAddedToStage(e:Event):void 
  {
   removeEventListener
(Event.ADDED_TO_STAGEonAddedToStage);
   
init();
  

Good Luck!

I’ll post here if I hit the same issue, or find a workaround…

   

koblongata, Newbie
Posted: 22 September 2013 10:58 PM   Total Posts: 28   [ # 2 ]

flash cs would produce a xml file (e.g something-app.xml) in the directory where the fla file resides.

open it and add a line <depthAndStencil>true</depthAndStencil> inside initialWindow tag, like:

<initialWindow>
    <
content>p2pboxing.swf</content>
    <
systemChrome>standard</systemChrome>
    <
transparent>false</transparent>
    <
visible>true</visible>
    <
fullScreen>true</fullScreen>
    <
aspectRatio>landscape</aspectRatio>
    <
renderMode>direct</renderMode>
   <
depthAndStencil>true</depthAndStencil>
    <
autoOrients>false</autoOrients></initialWindow

this is how I do it, took me sometime to figure it out as well, I could not believe such an important tag is not configurable in Flash IDE, and proper information about it is scarce… I can only smell that Adobe is abandoning Flash… and too bad I still keep coming back to it.

   

Avatar
martiniDave, Newbie
Posted: 23 September 2013 12:05 AM   Total Posts: 9   [ # 3 ]

Thanks for the tip, though it was not it. Your original thought was right it turned out to be the depthAndStencil. When researching it I found a post of similar context3D error fixed by adding:

      <renderMode>direct</renderMode>
      <depthAndStencil>true</depthAndStencil>

to the app xml, it did the trick.

appreciate the inputhttp://away3d.com/forum/smileys/#

   

Avatar
martiniDave, Newbie
Posted: 23 September 2013 12:09 AM   Total Posts: 9   [ # 4 ]

I didn’t see your reply before koblongata your right on the money, Thanks!

   
   

X

Away3D Forum

Member Login

Username

Password

Remember_me



X