Need help understanding texture mapping

Software: Away3D 4.x

jansensan, Newbie
Posted: 10 August 2011 07:46 PM   Total Posts: 16

Hello Away3D forums! I’m just jumping into this library, love it so far.

I’m really a beginner when it comes to the 3D logic. I mean, I get the idea of cameras, scenes, etc. but creating objects and interacting with them is still voodoo to me.

So I managed to run Away 3D 4.0 on FDT 4 Pure with Flash Player 11 beta 2, I can place a cube and other basic shapes on the scene, and changes their properties.

I’m at a point where I need to look into two things:

a) how to apply a bitmap to an object

I have managed to add an image to a cube, however when I try with another image, I get errors. Is there something I should know about what type, format or dimension of images work?

How do I choose what image I apply to what side of my cube? Or is there another way to go about this?

b) how to interact with the object

I did try to read and use the examples (https://github.com/away3d/away3d-examples-broomstick), but there arent any comments and I do not get what the mesh thing is. I want to be able to drag an object by clicking on etc.

Thanks in advance, any help is useful! Don’t worry, I’m not new to AS3 at all, just 3D.

Somokon, Member
Posted: 10 August 2011 08:26 PM   Total Posts: 75   [ # 1 ]

Hi jansensan,

The dimensions of a bitmap need to match and be in powers of two.  eg. 256x256, 512x512, 1024x1024, etc.  I use .jpgs and .pngs, but you should be able to use any format that AS3 can load and parse into a bitmapData object.

To build mouse interaction with a 3D object, you need to add MouseEvent3D listeners to your objects, and do whatever logic you need to move them around in the callback functions.

jansensan, Newbie
Posted: 10 August 2011 08:41 PM   Total Posts: 16   [ # 2 ]