BumpMap triangles blacked out

Software: Away3D 4.x

gcs_dev, Newbie
Posted: 05 March 2013 08:58 PM   Total Posts: 7

I’m new to Away3d (HaxE port) and am having an issue with applying BumpMaps to models created with Sketchup Pro and loaded as .OBJ.

I’m loading the model with a Loader3D and adding to the scene on RESOURCE_COMPLETE at which point I also start the render enterFrame loop.
I set the lightPicker and the bumpmap on ASSET_COMPLETE.

The screenshots attached show the issue:
with a bumpmap applied, some of the triangles are drawn but are completely blacked out. I’ve tried changing the model and re-exporting the OBJ but the problem persists. It’s always the same triangles which don’t get rendered.

Fabrice Closier, Administrator
Posted: 05 March 2013 10:01 PM   Total Posts: 1265   [ # 1 ]

It can be geometrical issue. Use MeshDebugger or any other tool to display/inspect the normals of geometry, if there are no double faces etc…
Can be a mapping issue, map issue… Its hard to say from what you posted.

gcs_dev, Newbie
Posted: 06 March 2013 03:27 AM   Total Posts: 7   [ # 2 ]

Hi Fabrice.
Thanks for your answer and for the heads-up about MeshDebugger, I hadn’t come across it yet.

All the normals look correct (all face outwards) and the triangles aren’t double-sided, or at least, seen from behind, nothing is drawn.

You mentioned map/mapping, to which map were you referring?

Posted: 06 March 2013 10:48 AM   Total Posts: 1265   [ # 3 ]