Load Scene into MovieClip?

Software: Away3D 4.x

Yashin, Newbie
Posted: 05 December 2012 11:53 AM   Total Posts: 11

Hello all,
I am a newbie with Away3d. I am working on a AS3 website where i need to load some 3DS max models to a movieclip, not to the stage. In fact, i am creating a viewer where it’ll be possible to load several models one by one, but i really need to put it inside a movieClip container not the whole flash scene. Is this possible?

Fabrice Closier, Administrator
Posted: 05 December 2012 01:18 PM   Total Posts: 1265   [ # 1 ]

Please define “put in movieclip”, “not to the stage” and “not whole flash scene”.
Try to define the use case so that there are no confusion between Stage3D, display list. Define what is expected to happends once “put in movieclip” and what happends with the movieclip itself, why you must use display objects etc…

Then we’ll take it from there.

Yashin, Newbie
Posted: 05 December 2012 02:03 PM   Total Posts: 11   [ # 2 ]

I already have my flash website with its pages and navigation bar etc.
Now, in one of the pages, I have placed a MovieClip into which I have to load my 3D object.
I have tried the following, where _viewerPanel is a MovieClip inside which the 3D object needs to be loaded.

_view = new View3D();
_viewerPanel.addChild(_view);

By following some tutorials, i’ve tried to add a plane to begin with :

_plane = new Mesh(new PlaneGeometry(700, 700), new TextureMaterial(Cast.bitmapTexture(FloorDiffuse)));
  //_view.x = -500;
  //_view.y = -400;
  _view.scene.addChild(_plane);

The plane is showing up, not inside my “viewerPanel” movieClip, but on the main scene. Furthermore, the index of the Plane is behind all the other objects.

I was thinking of creating another swf file with the 3D model in Away3D, and then loading the swf inside my _viewerPanel movieclip. But this solution will complicate my project.

I am attaching a structure of my website indicating where i want to place my 3D object.