Hy,
I don’t understand how i can show two different materials for a plane (one for the back, one for the front) with Away3D 4.0. :(
Could you help me??
Plane and multiple materialsSoftware: Away3D 4.x |
||
diabolhot, Newbie
Posted: 26 June 2012 01:11 PM Total Posts: 2 Hy, I don’t understand how i can show two different materials for a plane (one for the back, one for the front) with Away3D 4.0. :( Could you help me?? |
||
Matse, Sr. Member
Posted: 26 June 2012 07:07 PM Total Posts: 149 [ # 1 ] Hi, You can’t, because a plane is only 2 faces (2 triangles) : each face can only have one material (in fact a mesh or submesh can only have one material, for each different material in a mesh there is a submesh, sorry if I’m unclear) Your plane is probably 2-sided but that’s still the same faces (same submesh, same mesh, same material). A simple solution would be to create 2 planes, one for each side : each can have a different material, and just add them to an ObjectContainer3D to manipulate those 2 planes as a single object. There are plenty of other solutions : you could create dedicated mesh in 3DSmax / Maya / Blender / whatever or use a box primitive instead for example. |
||
diabolhot, Newbie
Posted: 27 June 2012 08:38 AM Total Posts: 2 [ # 2 ] It seems to me that Away3D 3.0 does it. I saw some examples like this: var frontMaterial:BitmapMaterial = new BitmapMaterial(Cast.bitmap(“front.jpg”); var plane:Plane = new Plane({width:200, height:200, material:frontMaterial, back:backMaterial, bothsides:true}); |
||
Matse, Sr. Member
Posted: 27 June 2012 08:47 AM Total Posts: 149 [ # 3 ] Away3D 3.X relies on Flash’s display list, Away3D 4.X doesn’t (it relies on Stage3D). There are most probably a lot of things you can do in 3.X that you can’t do the same way in 4.X. |
||
bmanderscheid, Newbie
Posted: 12 December 2012 08:23 PM Total Posts: 8 [ # 4 ]
Could you show an example of this please? |
||
bmanderscheid, Newbie
Posted: 12 December 2012 08:24 PM Total Posts: 8 [ # 5 ]
Could you show an example of this please? |
||
bmanderscheid, Newbie
Posted: 12 December 2012 08:24 PM Total Posts: 8 [ # 6 ] “A simple solution would be to create 2 planes, one for each side : each can have a different material, and just add them to an ObjectContainer3D to manipulate those 2 planes as a single object.”
|
||
bmanderscheid, Newbie
Posted: 12 December 2012 08:26 PM Total Posts: 8 [ # 7 ] It kept telling me that there was an error. SOrry for the multiple posts! |