Use Away3D for a non-interactive, machinima-like 3d application?

Software: Away3D 4.x

yannischris, Newbie
Posted: 16 January 2012 05:22 PM   Total Posts: 4

Hi all,
I am currently a CS PhD student and my research is on knowledge engineering and particularly on modelling film direction knowledge.

For the purpose of conducting some experiments, I have been searching the web to find a high-level, open-source 3D engine/API, preferably for Java but any other suggestion would be useful, with fair documentation/tutorials and an active community, that will enable me to easily generate some basic “film scene” examples programmatically, without having to go in the deeps of 3D programming. And this has to be done through code, rather than in some 3D platform like 3DMax or Blender.

For example I may need to generate a room, then place some objects (e.g. furniture, everyday-objects) and some human characters in it, and then create basic animations for the characters (e.g walk, sit on a chair or lie on a bed, bend, make simple gestures such as wave, point, hug or grab an object, etc). I will also need to move the characters around, so I need to be able to create motion paths (straight or curved) for translating the characters and the camera in space along these paths, or define the position/orientation of objects frame-by-frame by providing pre-calculated values for translation/rotation for each frame. And all these need to be done programmatically, i.e. through code. Finally, regarding animation, I need to load meshes of 3d models (in some format) together with their animations, and then activate/deactivate the animations through code. And also I may need to activate more than one animations simultaneously (e.g. walking cycle and waving hand simultaneously).