AWD Maya Exporter 1.0 (OSX) exports empty file

Software: Away3D 4.x

BossP, Newbie
Posted: 25 July 2012 10:27 PM   Total Posts: 4

Using the latest Maya exporter 1.0.0 (OS X) with Maya 2013 I was getting the following error:

// Error: line 0: AttributeError: file /Users/Shared/Autodesk/maya/plug-ins/pyawd/pyio.py line 13: ‘AWD’ object has no attribute ‘mesh_data_blocks’ //

In an attempt to fix the error I modified line 13 of the pyio.py file
from:
write_blocks(awd.mesh_data_blocks)
to:
write_blocks(awd.tri_geom_blocks)

Maya no longer throws an error when exporting and the resulting .awd file is now 30 bytes in size.

However, the imported AWD file is empty when loaded into Away3D 4.0.6 using Loader3D. LoaderEvent.RESOURCE_COMPLETE is dispatched and no errors are generated but there is no visible model. (Prefab 2.116 also says the awd model has loaded but there are no meshes listed).

Thanks

   

Avatar
Fabrice Closier, Administrator
Posted: 26 July 2012 08:27 AM   Total Posts: 1265   [ # 1 ]

I’m not familar with the awd python api, and I may say something silly here, but it looks to me that you avoid the error by writing a valid block, but are not perse writing the data that you expect it to write.
In Prefab, once it says it’s loaded, do you see a mesh entry into the meshes panel? If yes, if you press the tool icon to inspect the geometry content, does it seems normal? Faces count is not 0? If the only diff is a null material, simply apply a new material or one of the existing ones, and you should see the mesh. You can at this point reexport as awd2.

If the mesh row is not there, this means that the parser has successfully parsed all the awd2 blocks but that it didn’t not entered all the blocks necessary for a mesh contruct.

Tho, In your case, I do not think that you have exported any data for a mesh contruct, as the filesize is really low.


I think Richard might probably be way more helpful than me, as he wrote the python sdk and this exporter…

   

Richard Olsson, Administrator
Posted: 26 July 2012 08:45 AM   Total Posts: 1192   [ # 2 ]

Thanks Fab for trying. wink

I’m surprised by this error because it seems like something that I would have caught while testing exports. It should of course not be mesh_data_blocks, but tri_geom_blocks as you have suggested.

Can you please file a bug in the AWD issue tracker (http://awdformat.org) and attach the 30b AWD file that you were able to generate after modifying the code?

EDIT: Actually, I realized now that we’re talking about pyio and not cpyawd. If pyio is even getting used, that means that the libawd-powered cpyawd did not work properly, which is probably the core to this problem.

To confirm this, can you please try to just bring up the Maya script editor and try the following code?

import pyawd
print(pyawd.version_str

Include the output of that code in your bug report in the AWD issue tracker over att Google Code.

   

BossP, Newbie
Posted: 26 July 2012 05:00 PM   Total Posts: 4   [ # 3 ]

Hello Richard,

I just filed a bug report and attached the model and trace statement you requested.

As a work around, I exported a collada DAE file from Maya which I then imported into the latest Prefab3D version 2.117

From Prefab I was able to use the export AWD 2 option to create a file that works with Away3D 4.0.6

Thank you, Fabrice and the rest of the contributors for all the hard work.

   
   

X

Away3D Forum

Member Login

Username

Password

Remember_me



X