Performance issues with a lot of cubes

Software: Away3D 4.x

Brendon, Newbie
Posted: 18 June 2012 09:22 PM   Total Posts: 4

I started playing around with Away3D because I like to dabble with different programming languages and SDK’s.  I ran into some performance issues when loading a LOT of cubes.  The cubes only take a few seconds to actually load.  The problem is when I pan the camera around to show all of the cubes at once, my frame rate drops to about 5.  My script is very basic, so I was wondering if there is a better way to implement something of this nature to keep my frame rates up.

Thanks in advance.

File Attachments
physicstest.zip  (File Size: 1601KB - Downloads: 178)

Austen, Newbie
Posted: 19 June 2012 03:15 AM   Total Posts: 21   [ # 1 ]

did you create new geometries for each cube?
if you did, you should use the clone method to duplicate your meshes

i’m currently working on a small game displaying about 11k cubes and the framerate is really fine

Brendon, Newbie
Posted: 19 June 2012 03:52 AM   Total Posts: 4   [ # 2 ]

The portion of my code that generates the cubes is below.  I have a text file with all of the coordinates for each block.  Originally I loaded each as a new mesh.  Then I ran into vertex buffer issues and used clone instead.  But, that didn’t improve my FPS when panning over the bulk of the cubes.

var colors:Array = [];

colors[0] 0x252525;

colors[1] 0xff5555;

var 
mesh:Mesh = new Mesh();

mesh.geometry = new CubeGeometry11);

var 
_fileArray:Array = e.target.data.split(/\n/) ;
    for 
each ( var _fileObj:String in _fileArray )

{

var _fileLine:Array = _fileObj.split"," );
     var 
newMesh:Mesh mesh.clone() as Mesh;
     var 
material:ColorMaterial = new ColorMaterialcolors[ _fileLine[ 1 ] ] );

newMesh.material material;

newMesh._fileLine[2];

newMesh._fileLine[3];

newMesh._fileLine[4];

newMesh.rotationX _fileLine[5];

newMesh.rotationY _fileLine[6];

_scene.addChildnewMesh );

Matse, Sr. Member