Problem with SegmentsExtrude

Software: Away3D 3.x

mduhagon, Newbie
Posted: 10 April 2012 03:30 PM   Total Posts: 4

Hello,

I’m using SegmentsExtrude to build a line graph.

Each point in the line graph is a point for the SegmentsExtrude class.

I thought this was working ok, but SegmentsExtrude seems to be having problem with some values.

The problem seems to be that SegmentsExtrude doesn’t like it when I give it points that are all intermediate points of the same line.

For example, if I try to graph the values 150, 160, and 170, wich would result in a straight line up,  the the render get’s really slow, (I get actionscript timeout errors with a few more points), and the x position for the points in the extrude seem to be wrong (far to the left instead of where I wanted it)

If i graph the values 150, 160, and 180, not a straight line anymore, then performance is good, x position of each point as expected, etc.

This is my first time using this class, and also away3d, maybe someone who knows this class better could explain why I could be having this problem? And if there’s any sort of workaround?

Also, I notice that away3d version 3.6 does not include SegmentsExtrude anymore, which extruder class can I use as a substitute?

Fabrice Closier, Administrator
Posted: 10 April 2012 03:44 PM   Total Posts: 1265   [ # 1 ]

Which version of the engine are you running? 3.5?

mduhagon, Newbie
Posted: 10 April 2012 04:25 PM   Total Posts: 4   [ # 2 ]

I am not sure, the away3d library I had was inherited from a previous project. Is there a way to guess the version from the source files?
It was targetting flash player 9, so I think it’s an old version

Fabrice Closier, Administrator
Posted: 10 April 2012 08:03 PM   Total Posts: 1265   [ # 3 ]

can you post some url with both cases+ your code snippet please.
Right click on any Object3D should display the context menu with the away version

mduhagon, Newbie
Posted: 10 April 2012 10:00 PM   Total Posts: 4   [ # 4 ]