How to load 3ds files

Software: Away3D 3.x

Don9of11, Newbie
Posted: 13 July 2011 02:49 PM   Total Posts: 3

Ok, I have been looking for a way to load 3ds files. Are there any tutorials available?

   

jtopaz, Member
Posted: 13 July 2011 03:13 PM   Total Posts: 53   [ # 1 ]

Same as loading other model files.
You need to enable the Max parser:

Loader3D.enableParser(Max3DSParser);

p.s.
I find that .obj file have less error than other model format.
The worst format is collada. I never work it in away3d 4.

   

Don9of11, Newbie
Posted: 13 July 2011 03:49 PM   Total Posts: 3   [ # 2 ]

I’m brand new to Away3d, familiar with papervision. Is loading models done the same way?

Any example code for like loading the 3ds teapot, something really simple?

Thanks for the code above.

   

jtopaz, Member
Posted: 13 July 2011 04:24 PM   Total Posts: 53   [ # 3 ]

You can look at the official example “Loader3DSTest.as”.
I learn away3d from official example and official books smile

p.s. You say you are from papervision. How is the progress of papervision? Is it stop develop?

   

Don9of11, Newbie
Posted: 13 July 2011 04:55 PM   Total Posts: 3   [ # 4 ]

I found the Loader3DSTest.as document but when I run the example code I am receiving errors.

D:\Flash AS3 Toolbox\Away3d_tutorials\Loader3DSTest.as, Line 45 1046: Type was not found or was not a compile-time constant: LoaderEvent.

I am trying 3ds model teapot.

I haven’t been involved in any papervison work for about year. I now have project to build a 3d model viewer that rotates the part and zoom in out. Trying to build a proof of concept. I tried PV for my project above but it doesnt handle high polys, slows flash down and stalls. I don’t think there has been much development on PV.

So I thought I would try Away3d.

   

Richard Olsson, Administrator
Posted: 13 July 2011 10:13 PM   Total Posts: 1192   [ # 5 ]

Since you are using away 3.x, you should be looking at the appropriate examples in the fp10 folder in SVN. check out this example in particular: http://code.google.com/p/away3d/source/browse/trunk/fp10/Examples/Away3D/as/src/Basic_LoadModel.as

Cheers

   

Don9of11, Newbie
Posted: 15 July 2011 11:30 AM   Total Posts: 3   [ # 6 ]

Thank you. I have been looking at the page link you indicated but I don’t see any kind of zip file or download of the examples. Do you know if there is a website with these examples bundled together?

   

Freddythunder, Newbie
Posted: 08 August 2011 06:00 PM   Total Posts: 2   [ # 7 ]

I hope someone can help me… I’ve been searching and RTFM for days with Away3d.  I started with tutorials in 2.#, then got a 3ds to load with 3.5, but I read I should be using broomstick which looks like a completely different cup of soup.  I’ve been a AS2.0 programmer for a decade, but kind of get 3.0.  I’ve done OOP in PHP for a long time too so I’m not totally lost.  Anyways, I got the package linked and it’s going to the correct area, but I’m getting the same error as above - should I backtrack to 3.? cause that seemed to fix someone else’s problem:

C:\there\away3d_3_0_0\trunk\broomstick\Examples\Away3D\as\src\Loader3DSTest.as, Line 45 1046Type was not found or was not a compile-time constantLoaderEvent.
C:\there\away3d_3_0_0\trunk\broomstick\Examples\Away3D\as\src\Loader3DSTest.as, Line 50 1046Type was not found or was not a compile-time constantLoaderEvent.
C:\there\away3d_3_0_0\trunk\broomstick\Examples\Away3D\as\src\Loader3DSTest.as, Line 55 1046Type was not found or was not a compile-time constantLoaderEvent

I’m with Don9of11; one simple page to explain some of this stuff would be magical.  I will write one if I ever figure it out smile

   

Richard Olsson, Administrator
Posted: 08 August 2011 06:03 PM   Total Posts: 1192   [ # 8 ]

Hi,

It doesn’t sound like you’re using the latest sources from github (http://www.github.com/away3d/away3d-core-fp11) The .LoaderEvent should definitely be there, so if it’s not that tells me that you are not using the right source or have not linked it up properly.

Whether to use 3.x or 4.0 is basically down to whether you want to use Flash Player 10 or 11. Since Flash Player 11 isn’t officially launched yet, it might be wise to use 3.x for projects that need to go live within the next couple of months (and not target early adopters.) Expect completely different performance than you would with 4.0 though.

   

Freddythunder, Newbie
Posted: 08 August 2011 06:17 PM   Total Posts: 2   [ # 9 ]

Yes, I am not.  I downloaded stuff from the SVN which would be the wrong thing.  Thank you for your quick reply.  I did think that fp 11 was not out yet, seriously overwhelmed by the alphanumeric soup (second soup reference) when working with Away3d and the numerous applications.  I was having some texture issues online with 3.x so I will go back and see if I can fix that - then make a tutorial… Then erase it when fp11 come out.

   
   

X

Away3D Forum

Member Login

Username

Password

Remember_me



X