AnimatedBitmapMaterial is Gone?

Software: Away3D 4.x

Alex Bogartz, Sr. Member
Posted: 15 March 2012 09:33 PM   Total Posts: 216

Just noticing that I don’t have that class anymore.  How can I use a MovieClip as a material in Away 4 Beta?

   

Alex Bogartz, Sr. Member
Posted: 15 March 2012 10:47 PM   Total Posts: 216   [ # 1 ]

Ok, kind of seeing the path, but it’s like create a new BlahTexture, then feed that into the TextureMaterial.

Still investigating if anyone has a clue…

   

Avatar
Fabrice Closier, Administrator
Posted: 15 March 2012 10:52 PM   Total Posts: 1265   [ # 2 ]

I love this class… and miss it too. But it will return in a finer way.

   

Alex Bogartz, Sr. Member
Posted: 15 March 2012 10:53 PM   Total Posts: 216   [ # 3 ]

Oh, so it’s really gone?  Ok, so here’s my task:  I have an explosion animated out to 20 frames.  I want to put this on a Sprite3D.  Can you suggest a way to accomplish this?

   

Alex Bogartz, Sr. Member
Posted: 15 March 2012 11:46 PM   Total Posts: 216   [ # 4 ]

Ok, not ideal at all, but you can do something like this:

bit = new BitmapTexture(new exp_0001());
  
foo = new Sprite3D(new TextureMaterial(bittrue), 33);
  
TextureMaterial(foo.material).alphaBlending true

Then in a loop, you just update that bitmapData.

bitCount++;
var 
c:Class = getDefinitionByName("exp_000" bitCount) as Class;
   
bit.bitmapData = new c();
if (
bitCount == 9{
 bitCount 
0;

This is totally the wrong way to do this as I should make a sprite sheet and blit from a copyPixels routine.  Anyway, this works, but I don’t know how taxing it is so HACK!

grin

Any ETA on the new material class to do this the right way?

   

Alex Bogartz, Sr. Member
Posted: 16 March 2012 05:20 PM   Total Posts: 216   [ # 5 ]

So I made a new class called a Sprite3DAnimator and it’s working well, but I hesitate to share since it’s entangled with other code and it sounds like the new version is on the horizon.

Is there any interest or reason to roll out a temporary version, Fabrice?  I don’t want to waste effort, but this feature is pretty key to making effects in Away.

   

Avatar
Fabrice Closier, Administrator
Posted: 16 March 2012 10:49 PM   Total Posts: 1265   [ # 6 ]

You can always send me the class offline.

   

Alex Bogartz, Sr. Member
Posted: 16 March 2012 11:17 PM   Total Posts: 216   [ # 7 ]

Ok, I’ll try and clean it up to be presentable.  It loads in a sprite sheet (embedded) and a JSON file (also embedded) from TexturePacker, then uses that to animate the texture.  It’s not using a MovieClip, but same result.

I always shocks me how much work you guys have done just cleaning up the code and writing comments and docs.

I bow down to your amazing skillz!

   

Alex Bogartz, Sr. Member
Posted: 16 March 2012 11:38 PM   Total Posts: 216   [ # 8 ]

I can’t attach the classes because the zip is too large with the image file.  Fabrice, I’ll email to you and if you want, please feel free to use.

   

Avatar
Fabrice Closier, Administrator
Posted: 17 March 2012 12:01 AM   Total Posts: 1265   [ # 9 ]

Thanks for sharing, send to fabrice3d at gmail dot com please

   
   

X

Away3D Forum

Member Login

Username

Password

Remember_me



X