abavisg, Newbie Posted: 07 July 2011 08:00 PM Total Posts: 5
Hi,
I have a 3d head (as an as3 Class) and I change the camera properties (with transform and the properties are translation and quaternion rotation).
During the animation, some faces are disappearing.
The camera has a RectangleClipping applied with minX=-960/2, maxX=960/2, minY=-540/2, maxY=540/2 (taken form the containers width and height which is 960x540).
Do you know how to fix this problem?
many thanks
Giorgos
ps will post code sample soon
Stephen Hopkins, Sr. Member Posted: 07 July 2011 11:47 PM Total Posts: 110
[ # 1 ]
if you are using away3d 3.X, I think you will have to use frustum culling. Are the faces that are disappearing, faces near the camera or on the edge of the view?
abavisg, Newbie Posted: 08 July 2011 08:07 AM Total Posts: 5
[ # 2 ]
The object is in the middle of the view.
Tried both RectangleClipping and FrustrumClipping
With the second one, the outcome is even worse.
Making a small example now and posting it soon.
thanks
abavisg, Newbie Posted: 08 July 2011 09:30 AM Total Posts: 5
[ # 3 ]
You can see the problem here and dowbload the source code if you like.
I apologise for the lack of packages but I had to strip down my project and placed everything in the default folder.
abavisg, Newbie Posted: 08 July 2011 09:33 AM Total Posts: 5
[ # 4 ]
As i mentioned before,
the animation is part of a sequence where lots of scenes don’t have any animation on them. That’s why you will see that in several frames the camera is not moving.
The problem appears in the first shot.
Stephen Hopkins, Sr. Member Posted: 09 July 2011 04:42 AM Total Posts: 110
[ # 5 ]
try turning on bothSides for your mesh, maybe the exported animation data is bad.
abavisg, Newbie Posted: 11 July 2011 12:37 PM Total Posts: 5
[ # 6 ]
I managed to work around it by changing slightly the minY, maxY properties of the RectangleClipping by 10 pixels.
Of course this is not the perfect solution as my other video scenes work perfectly without this change in clipping.
And the clipping affects the matching of the video and the model. But I guess since the clipping changes slightly, the mismatch is not really visible.
But I am still not sure whether the problem I am facing is a bug or it’s something I do wrong (like setting up the scene, exporting the Collada as Class etc).
G
abavisg, Newbie Posted: 11 July 2011 12:39 PM Total Posts: 5
[ # 7 ]
@Stephen I did try all available clippings and various properties like bothSides with no luck.
The problem was fixed when I used the INTERESCTING_OBJECTS renderer but my framerate was too low.