How to export and animate meshes without bones in away3d?

Software: Away3D 4.x

ray10r, Newbie
Posted: 31 December 2011 06:48 AM   Total Posts: 6

I have a dae file and i used the MD5 exporter for away3d in 3dMAX 9. The character works fine but the cloth which has no bones cannot be exported. And the strange thing is:
While i played it in 3dMAX, the cloth mesh is not animated but the vertex are animated . (See the attachment picture left side). When any of the modifier (such as cloth, skin, morph…) is applied to the cloth mesh, it can be animated (See the attachment picture right side).

I am not sure about the reason that i cannot export the cloth mesh properly.
Is it my exporter’s problem? or is it my 3dMAx’s problem? I did some research online but unfortunately I am totally new to flash 3d development and not good at 3dMAX either confused. So i have no clue on how to solve it.

Can anyone tell me the right workflow to export this kind of cloth effect and animate it in away3d?

theMightyAtom, Sr. Member
Posted: 31 December 2011 10:43 AM   Total Posts: 669   [ # 1 ]

I’ve wrestled a bit with this myself. As yet I haven’t found the perfect recipe.
You should checkout MD2 format, which is based on vertex position rather than bones.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MD2_(file_format)

I found another approach, but it’s still experimental.
http://videometry.blogspot.com/2011/09/playing-havok-with-flash-11.html
http://videometry.blogspot.com/2011/09/introducing-atomizer.html

AWD2 is also worth investigation. AFAIK there’s no MAX exporter as yet, but you can take models through Blender and export. Prefab2 should also be a path to AWD2 in the near future.

I hope others will provide a tried and tested method for you, otherwise the only thing I can tell you is that it’s in the works. If you find the answer, please post :O)

Good Luck!

ray10r, Newbie
Posted: 06 January 2012 03:59 PM   Total Posts: 6   [ # 2 ]

Thanks for the tips,theMightyAtom.