Multiple textures in a single 3D model

Software: Away3D 4.x

Hector, Sr. Member
Posted: 24 October 2011 06:05 PM   Total Posts: 137

Hi guys,
I’m very new to 3D and Away3D 4 and I don’t know if this questions has been solved already or they are very obvious:

I have a 3D model where the user can change his clothes textures (shirt, pants, etc.) and skin colour.

1 - So far I have been doing it by splitting the 3D model in different meshes, then I apply a different texture to every mesh. I’m not sure if this is the best way to do it, I think it takes so much resources?

2 - I have also used a single texture, changing the different areas in the bitmapData by using masks, before apply it to the 3D object. Maybe a better solution?

3 - In the Blender model I have the object in a single mesh and then ‘Vertext Groups’ for the UV maps. Are these groups or UV maps included when exporting to .3DS in a way that I can use them with Away3D 4? Maybe a format other than .3DS?
I was wondering if it’s possible to keep the 3D model in a single mesh and apply different textures to every vertex group.

I don’t know what option is the best one in order to make a good use of the resources or if there is a method to do this already.

Cheers,

Hector

Alex Bogartz, Sr. Member
Posted: 24 October 2011 06:22 PM   Total Posts: 216   [ # 1 ]

That’s funny, I was literally coming here to ask the same question!

My situation is that I was given a model that has different image files assigned under vertex groups.  I’m not sure how to re-assign them in Away.  Sounds similar to your problem.  I could bake the whole texture to a single file, but I’m pretty sure that won’t look as good.

oulaboula, Newbie
Posted: 24 October 2011 08:19 PM   Total Posts: 15   [ # 2 ]

i think it’s possible but not tested yet.

when you load you 3ds model, you have a listener on the loader3ds that trigger the AssetCompleteEvent for each part of your model.