Serious Problem… Memory skyrockets, and things aren’t working.

Software: Away3D 4.x

empend, Member
Posted: 29 October 2011 03:47 AM   Total Posts: 77

I’ve added all of the files, so you’re able to check it out for yourself.
I made a topic earlier that is some what related to this, but I don’t think I explained it very well while trying to explain multiple problems I’m experiencing (and I’ve kinda found out something else).

The first topic was about how I couldn’t load a .3ds model.
Some new bug I’m assuming.

Along with that problem…

I got a .obj file to load, and I could apply a bitmapMaterial with it working properly.
When I tried to add a light to the material the models weren’t visible, and then…
The memory just keeps going up!

Take a look for yourself, it’s only 106 lines of code.

Either comment out

mesh.material=defaultMaterial

at line 95, or

defaultMaterial.lights [directionalLight]

at line 81.

I’m just going to use an older version of Away3D until some stuff is fixed I guess.

Here are some errors I get.

TypeErrorError #2007: Parameter data must be non-null.
 
at flash.display3D::VertexBuffer3D/uploadFromVector()
 
at away3d.core.base::SubGeometry/getVertexNormalBuffer()
 
at away3d.core.base::SubMesh/getVertexNormalBuffer()
 
at away3d.materials.passes::DefaultScreenPass/render()
 
at away3d.materials::MaterialBase/renderPass()
 
at away3d.core.render::DefaultRenderer/drawRenderables()
 
at away3d.core.render::DefaultRenderer/draw()
 
at away3d.core.render::RendererBase/executeRender()
 
at away3d.core.render::RendererBase/render()
 
at away3d.containers::View3D/render()
 
at levelViewer/update() 
ErrorError #3608: Stream 2 is invalid.
 
at flash.display3D::Context3D/drawTriangles()
 
at away3d.materials.passes::MaterialPassBase/render()
 
at away3d.materials.passes::DefaultScreenPass/render()
 
at away3d.materials::MaterialBase/renderPass()
 
at away3d.core.render::DefaultRenderer/drawRenderables()
 
at away3d.core.render::DefaultRenderer/draw()
 
at away3d.core.render::RendererBase/executeRender()
 
at away3d.core.render::RendererBase/render()
 
at away3d.containers::View3D/render()
 
at levelViewer/update() 

These only appear when I use a material with a light applied to it.

EDIT: Just tried it with Alternativa 8 and it worked perfectly. They’ve got some good parsers. XD

 

File Attachments
HelpMeFixThis.zip  (File Size: 381KB - Downloads: 152)
   

empend, Member
Posted: 29 October 2011 08:38 PM   Total Posts: 77   [ # 1 ]

So no one cares if Away3D runs up to 4000MB memory?

   

John Brookes, Moderator
Posted: 29 October 2011 09:23 PM   Total Posts: 732   [ # 2 ]

You OBJ doesn’t have any normal data
add
mesh.geometry.subGeometries[0].autoDeriveVertexNormals = true;
in your asset complete.

That will stop the error.

If your going to have a lot of objects that dont move. Merge them into a single mesh.
Look into the merge class.
Have fun smile

   

empend, Member
Posted: 29 October 2011 11:52 PM   Total Posts: 77   [ # 3 ]

Thanks a lot!
I was just adding a bunch of objects on the screen to benchmark how well it would run.
It would be awesome if Away3D team figured out a way to combine all meshes with the same material, so it would all be drawn with one drawTriangles.

I’m guessing the .3ds not loading problem is still there though.
I think the bug is posted on Github…
Something to do with AssetLoaderContext.includeDependencies…
https://github.com/away3d/away3d-core-fp11/issues/170

   

jiksaw213, Newbie
Posted: 23 December 2011 01:36 AM   Total Posts: 1   [ # 4 ]

thanks for the answer, i’ve got the same problem.

   
   

X

Away3D Forum

Member Login

Username

Password

Remember_me



X