Best way to export from Blender to Away3D?

Software: Away3D 3.x

Keith, Newbie
Posted: 15 September 2011 02:56 PM   Total Posts: 7

Hi all,

I have created a simple 3D model in Blender (2.5), and would like to use this model in Away3D in Flash. There are a few different export formats that Away3D can read. However, all of these are coming in with no texture or material data (basically, a completely white model).

I am using Prefab to test the importing process, by the way. The one file format that seems to export ‘more’ data from Blender (larger file size, anyway) is DAE, but it loads in with UV Mapping errors and triangular faces in Prefab.

What is the best way to export from Blender to Away3D, and still keep texturing/materials?

Thanks.

Alex Bogartz, Sr. Member
Posted: 15 September 2011 03:09 PM   Total Posts: 216   [ # 1 ]

This is how I’ve got it working (but I’m pretty new to this process so there is probably a better way).

Select your model.  Export from Blender as .obj, and uncheck ‘Materials’.  Check “Selection Only”.  Scale up 100 times.  Then load the model as embedded and also embed the textures so you can create the material in code.

When I included the materials I was getting errors finding the .mtl file.

This is using v 4.0 of Away3D (I’m not going to worry about 3.6 since that’ll be obsolete soon, IMO).

Keith, Newbie
Posted: 22 September 2011 09:25 PM   Total Posts: 7   [ # 2 ]

Hi Makai,

Thanks for the post, but I don’t understand this portion:

“Then load the model as embedded and also embed the textures so you can create the material in code.”

What do you mean by loading the model as embedded, or by embedding the textures? Does Blender has a way to ‘export’ just the textures that have been set on a model?

And when you import a texture and place it on your already-imported model with Away3D, does it know how to map it the same way you had it mapped in Blender?

Thanks.

Alex Bogartz, Sr. Member