Out of range error when loading Collada file

Software: Away3D 3.x

Avatar
Bas, Newbie
Posted: 05 September 2011 11:29 AM   Total Posts: 23

Hi all,

When i try to load my collada file I’m getting a
“RangeError: Error #1125: the index 0 is out of range 0.”
It is in the file “AbstractParser.as” on line 285 (latest version from svn)

The collada file is loaded with this function:

public function startupColladaModelObject(collada:XMLinit:Init):MeshObject
  {
   super
.startupBaseObject();
   if (
collada != null)
   

    
var colladaModel:Collada = new Collada();
    
model colladaModel.parseGeometry(collada) as ObjectContainer3D;
    
    
engineManager.view.scene.addChild(model);
   
}
   
return this;
  

The thing is i can’t change the collada file because it’s generated.

Does anyone know how to fix this? or how to get the collada model on screen?
The collada file is too big to attach here so it can be found here:
http://www.zshare.net/download/935925188f6bd63c/

Thanks in advance
Bas

   

Avatar
kurono, Sr. Member
Posted: 05 September 2011 11:50 AM   Total Posts: 103   [ # 1 ]

Problem with DAE didn’t solved in the fullness of time, so I decided to use 3ds for static meshes & md5 for animations. It’s a pity. But I’m glad to listen if anybody solved it.

   

bakajin, Newbie
Posted: 07 September 2011 03:50 PM   Total Posts: 24   [ # 2 ]

Well i initially had the exact error message when loading a scene with different models. The previous test with just one model loaded fine. When i then built a scene also containing animation references and other helper objects it started to show this error.

However i was able to fix it by carefully comparing differences between models. I fixed the problem by getting rid of any properties that were “strange” and/or unneeded and by adding uv coordinate clusters to all models. Oh And the same material, but i’m not sure that was really needed…

I should really do another test to check if it was the missing uv coordinates in 2 of the models that was the real culprit. Maybe after i’m done.

Hope that helps some…

Bakajin

   

Avatar
Bas, Newbie
Posted: 08 September 2011 08:50 AM   Total Posts: 23   [ # 3 ]

Hey all,

I managed to load the collada file by skipping the uv information in “AbstractParser.as” (in my version it’s around line 285. First check if any uv info is present, if not then continue loading without the uv info.

It’s not a very nice way to make things work but i couldn’t find another solution.

Also switching to another 3d file-format is not an option for me. The file is generated on a server and it can only generate .dae and .kmz files for now.

I thought i’d share this little bit of info. I hope there will be a better solution in the near future.

   
   

X

Away3D Forum

Member Login

Username

Password

Remember_me



X