Poll
Best 3D editor (most compatible and recommended) for Away3D 4?
Blender3D 4
3ds max 5
Total Votes: 9
You must be a logged-in member to vote

Away3D starters environment question

Software: Away3D 4.x

Huck, Jr. Member
Posted: 09 January 2012 06:53 PM   Total Posts: 45

HI Guys, nice to meet you all, im just arriving in the Away3D community.

a quick overview: i just spent the last week actively searching for the best option for my new game. At first i looked at Unity3D as the best option thanks to its flash export and great IDE, but i realized that this would create some kind of Frankenstein type game with half .net, half flash and that in the end, the final results in both unity and flash worlds would end up crippled and sub-optimal. so i then looked a both Away3D and Flare3D, but away3d just seems better at this point, especially the fact that it is open source. i might even participate in its development should fixes/improvements appear (i have over 13 years experience in software development now although im new to flash/as3).

so, now that i made my choice, im in. I do have a few questions, mainly to know how to setup my new away3D development environment.

1. What development tool would you recommend (Flash builder or FlashDevelop).

2. what is the best 3D authoring tool for away3D (i know they are both great and its a personal choice, but in general which one is best supported/used?) the amazing Blender3D or the great 3ds max?

3. what is the favored file format for meshes with/without animations in away3D (it seems to support quite a few, but which one is the preferred?)

4. how is prefab3d for away3d 4 going and will it support animation view/edit? (looks like amazing software, just seems to lack animation editing).

thanks guys and see you in the forums!

edit: fixed typos

Matse, Sr. Member
Posted: 09 January 2012 07:18 PM   Total Posts: 149   [ # 1 ]

Hi Huck, and welcome !

You are probably gonna have lots of different answers smile