How to load a .obj file that have .mtl ?

Software: Away3D 4.x

gohkgohk, Newbie
Posted: 31 July 2013 11:20 AM   Total Posts: 4

hi.
I am new to away3d.

The examples show in away3d tutorials that only load the vertex in obj, and then input the texture directly in coding, without the use of .mtl file.

Do there have any function that existed in away3d, which i can call to load everything from obj and mtl files directly?

please help.

Thank you

theMightyAtom, Sr. Member
Posted: 31 July 2013 12:20 PM   Total Posts: 669   [ # 1 ]

This generally just *works*, i.e. the mat file is loaded automatically when the obj file is loaded. You just need to be sure the paths are right.

Another thing I noticed recently is that all the materials use the first texture in the mat file, so if you have multiple texture files you might want to do what I did, and take the file into AwayBuilder, correct the textures and save it out as an AWD. This is the native format for Away, and gives the most predictable and best performing results when importing.

http://awaytools.com/awaybuilder/live-tool/

Good Luck!

gohkgohk, Newbie
Posted: 01 August 2013 09:13 AM   Total Posts: 4   [ # 2 ]
theMightyAtom - 31 July 2013 12:20 PM

This generally just *works*, i.e. the mat file is loaded automatically when the obj file is loaded. You just need to be sure the paths are right.

Another thing I noticed recently is that all the materials use the first texture in the mat file, so if you have multiple texture files you might want to do what I did, and take the file into AwayBuilder, correct the textures and save it out as an AWD. This is the native format for Away, and gives the most predictable and best performing results when importing.

http://awaytools.com/awaybuilder/live-tool/

Good Luck!

Thx for your reply.