Getting Blender 2.58 into Away3D

Software: Away3D 3.x

FlashGuy, Newbie
Posted: 06 August 2011 08:03 PM   Total Posts: 3

Hello everyone, I’m new to Away3D and 3d in flash in general, so I apologize in advance for noob mistakes.  However, I am trying to get a blender file into away3d and it is not working.

I’ve tried exporting from blender (and 3ds Max) in collada, and obj, and I can view the files in prefab3D, but they are completely white instead of using the materials assigned to the model in blender.  When I try to import these files into away3d, I get an error at Loader3d/loadTextures().  The model doesn’t use any external images, just the materials, and it doesn’t use any textures either; there is no <library_images> in the collada, just a <library_materials>.  Any help would be appreciated.

Choons, Sr. Member
Posted: 06 August 2011 10:21 PM   Total Posts: 281   [ # 1 ]

one thing you will find with obj files is the 3.6 parser imports Blender exported obj files reversed. I prefer to export 3ds files from blender for use in Away3D. In general you will also find it better to apply materials to models from within Away3D. I generally make an ObjectContainer3D to hold the mesh(es) of the model and parse it in like this:

myObjContainer3D = Max3DS.parse(Cast.bytearray(myModel), { autoLoadTextures:false } );

then to apply materials I do

for each (var child:Mesh in myObjContainer3D.children) {
    child.material = myMaterial
}