Texture Sampling / Filtering / Mipmapping problem

Software: Away3D 4.x

Ant, Newbie
Posted: 20 September 2012 06:26 PM   Total Posts: 5

Hi,

I’m just getting into Away3D (enjoying it too!) but I’m having a bit of an issue with blurry textures. I’ve been searching for a fix but nothing so far seems to do the trick.

I’m trying to make a pixel-art style texture on some objects and, even with mipmapping and smoothing disabled, they just don’t look right. The attached image shows a sample texture on the left with its 3D representation on the right. I want to keep the sharp pixel edge look. Any ideas?

Thanks in advance.

Ant

80prozent, Sr. Member
Posted: 20 September 2012 08:09 PM   Total Posts: 430   [ # 1 ]

hi

not so shure myself, but did you try changing the antiAlias ?

Signature 

sorry…i hope my actionscript is better than my english…

Ant, Newbie
Posted: 20 September 2012 08:17 PM   Total Posts: 5   [ # 2 ]

Hi. Yes I’ve tried antiAlias and a few random lens properties inside the camera - all to no avail.

Thanks though, I’m open to any more suggestions along those lines if you have them smile

80prozent, Sr. Member
Posted: 20 September 2012 08:42 PM   Total Posts: 430   [ # 3 ]

whats the texture size ?
did you try very big vs very small ?

Signature 

sorry…i hope my actionscript is better than my english…

Ant, Newbie
Posted: 20 September 2012 09:06 PM   Total Posts: 5   [ # 4 ]

It’s 64x64. I’m planning on their being a LOT of small texture, low poly models when it’s finished, so I need to keep sizes down really. I tried it at 256x256 and there was no difference.

It’s an odd one! I’m a bit stumped. I’m no 3D expert but I thought it’d simply be the mipmap property. It looks as intended when I disable it in Cinema 4D at least

Richard Olsson, Administrator
Posted: 21 September 2012 10:30 AM   Total Posts: 1192   [ # 5 ]