BitmapMaterial on Mesh vs. on primitive Plane - how to avoid repeating texture on faces of mesh?

Software: Away3D 3.x

Benjamin, Newbie
Posted: 17 September 2012 06:13 PM   Total Posts: 7

Hi!
I’m quite new to Away3D and 3D in general and really need some help.

I’ve got the following problem: I built a primitive Plane in Blender, exported it as OBJ and imported it in Prefab. Then I exported it as AS3-class. 

Now I want to change the texture of the Plane during runtime - I instantiate the exported
AS3-class (named “E1”), get the Mesh and apply a material to it:

var e1:E1 = new E1();
var 
m1:Mesh Mesh(e1.getChildByName("Plane1"));
var 
mat:Material Cast.material(m2_bitmap);
m1.material mat

The problem: the texture is spread/split over the two faces of the Mesh (see attached image). How can I avoid this? At the right you see a Plane I added using “new Plane()” and then applied the same material. This is what it should look like…

Any help will be appreciated - been struggling with this the whole day :(
Thanx a lot!
Ben

80prozent, Sr. Member
Posted: 17 September 2012 07:16 PM   Total Posts: 430   [ # 1 ]

Hi

it the uv-mapping /uvBuffer thats wrong.

if you only need a plane with this bitmap on it, try using a PlaneGeometry Object instead of a imported mesh. it will allready have the correct uvmapping set up.

if you want to use more complex meshes, you have to make shure to create the uv-mapping in your 3d-application.

a good way to check your exportet models before using in your project is using prefab.

hope that helps

Signature 

sorry…i hope my actionscript is better than my english…

Benjamin, Newbie
Posted: 17 September 2012 09:23 PM   Total Posts: 7   [ # 2 ]

Hi,

thx for your answer! I’m using Away3D 3.6, so I think there’s no PlaneGeometry-class.
In this project I will have to deal only, but with a lot of simple planes with dynamically attached materials.